The shifting dynamics of Centre-state relationship

When India became independent from British Raj, its political map was not what it looks like today. There were provinces that were directly under British control, and there were independent princely states. The Constituent Assembly, on December 31, 1947, had 299 members from 12 provinces and 70 Indian states.

Western disturbance may bring more rain, snow: IMD

A fresh western disturbance — the seventh this month — that is likely to affect the western Himalayas early next week could bring widespread snowfall and rain to the hills and plains in many parts of northern India on January 28 and 29, according to the India Meteorological Department (IMD)’s weather bulletin on Thursday.

AAP looks to score a hat-trick in Greater Kailash

It is going to be a ‘local’ versus ‘hyper-local’ contest in south Delhi’s affluent Greater Kailash (GK) assembly constituency, from where the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is fielding its sitting MLA Saurabh Bharadwaj (40) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is putting its faith in area councilor Shikha Roy (55).