The shifting dynamics of Centre-state relationship

When India became independent from British Raj, its political map was not what it looks like today. There were provinces that were directly under British control, and there were independent princely states. The Constituent Assembly, on December 31, 1947, had 299 members from 12 provinces and 70 Indian states.

Australian Open 2020: Medvedev overcomes Martinez, bleeding nose to advance in Melbourne

Fourth seed Daniil Medvedev of Russia dealt with spells of resistance from Spanish qualifier Pedro Martinez and a bleeding nose on his way to a 7-5 6-1 6-3 win on Thursday to reach the third round of the Australian Open. Medvedev, a U.S. Open finalist last year, arrived in Melbourne in red-hot form, winning all his singles matches at the inaugural ATP Cup before a three-set defeat to seven-time Australian Open champion Novak Djokovic in the semi-final.